Neutron Stars on Fire

sol3Thermonuclear Probes of Rotation, Magnetism, and Nuclear Physics

May 11-13, 2003
Institute for Advanced Study
Princeton, New Jersey

Supported in part by a grant from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation



Twenty five years after their discovery, thermonuclear flashes in accreting neutron stars continue to offer a unique setting for studying phenomena in extreme physical conditions. This meeting will focus on the use of such X-ray bursts in studying the properties of ultradense matter, the synthesis of heavy elements, and the evolution of neutron star spins and magnetic fields.

SOC: D. Psaltis (IAS), F. Özel (IAS), L. Bildsten (ITP/UCSB), T. Strohmayer (NASA/GSFC), E. Kuulkers (ESA/ESTEC)

Confirmed Participants:

S. Bhattacharyya (Maryland), L. Bildsten (ITP/UCSB), E. Brown (Chicago), D. Chakrabarty (MIT), P. Chang (UCSB), Y. Chen (UIUC), R. Cornelisse (SRON), J. Cottam (GSFC), A. Cumming (UCSC), S. DeDeo (Princeton), J. Fisker (Basel), D. Galloway (MIT), D. Gryaznykh (Russia), J. Hartman (MIT), E. Kuulkers (ESA/ESTEC), F. Lamb (UIUC), J. Lattimer (SUNY), Y. Levin (CITA), A. Majczyna (Poland), H. Marshall (MIT), C. Miller (Maryland), S. Morsink (Alberta), M. Muno (MIT), D. Nice (Princeton), C. Noel (Bruxelles), F. Özel (IAS), B. Paczynski (Princeton), F. Paerels (Columbia), A. Piro (ITP/UCSB), D. Psaltis (Arizona), H. Schatz (MSU), N. Schulz (MIT), V. Simonenko (Russia), A. Spitkovsky (Berkeley), H. Spruit (MPA), S. Starrfield (Arizona State), T. Strohmayer (GSFC), S. Starrfield (ASU), J. Swank (GSFC), R. Taam (Northwestern), G. Ushomirsky (MIT), M. Zingale (UCSC)

Scientific Program

(s): short talks (20+10 mins); (l): long talks (30+15 mins)

Time

Sunday May 11

Monday May 12

Tuesday May 13

.

Chair: Fred Lamb

Chair: Lars Bildsten

Chair: Sharon Morsink

9:00 Overview Of Burst Physics (l)
L. Bildsten
Superbursts (l)
A. Cumming
Bursts at Low Accretion Rates (s)
R. Cornelisse
Low Mdot Bursters-Gravitational Sedimentation (s)
S. Starrfield
Gravitationally Redshifted Lines (s)
J. Cottam
Chandra Results on Lines from Bursters (s)
H. Marshall
Atmospheric Composition in Bursters (s)
P. Chang
9:45 Overview of Burst Observations (l)
E. Kuulkers
10:30 C O F F E E - B R E A K
11:00 Burst Oscillations During Rise and Superbursts (l)
T. Strohmayer
Eddington-limited Bursts (s)
D. Galloway
Neutron-Star Modes (l)
G. Ushomirsky
Pulsational Stability of Steady State Models (s)
A. Piro
Neutron Star Properties and Equations of State (l)
J. Lattimer
Constraints on Gravity Theories from Redshifts (s)
S. DeDeo
Spectra of Bursters (s)
A. Majczyna
11:45 Ignition and Propagation of Nuclear Burning (l)
A. Spitkovsky
12:30 L U N C H

.

Chair: Tod Strohmayer

Chair: Ron Taam

Chair: Deepto Chakrabarty

2:00 Burst Oscillations in Burst Tails (l)
M. Muno
Magnetic Fields of Bursters (l)
H. Spruit
Core Temperatures of Bursters (l)
E. Brown
2:45 Model Constraints from Burst Oscillations (l)
F. Özel
Nuclear Physics of Bursts (l)
H. Schatz
Workshop Summary
B. Paczynski
Discussion on Future of Burst Research
3:30 C O F F E E - B R E A K
4:00 Bursts and Oscillations in Millisecond Pulsars (l)
D. Chakrabarty
Numerical Simulations of Nuclear Burning (l)
M. Zingale
 
4:45 Burst Oscillations and kHz QPOs (s)
D. Psaltis
Burst Oscillations and Alfven-Rossby Waves (s)
F. Lamb
Nuclear effects on burst behavior (s)
J. Fisker
* Conference Dinner
6:30pm, IAS Dining Hall

Talks

Sunday May 11

Monday May 12

Tuesday May 13

Participants (as of May 8, 2003)

1.
Sudip Bhattacharyya
University of Maryland
Department of Astronomy 
College Park, MD 20742
email: sudip@astro.umd.edu
phone: 301-405-1383

2.
Lars Bildsten
ITP/UC Santa Barbara
Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics
Kohn Hall
UCSB
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
email: bildsten@itp.ucsb.edu
phone:  805 893 3979
fax: 805 893 2431 

3.
Edward Brown
University of Chicago
Enrico Fermi Institute
5640 S Ellis Ave
Chicago, IL 60637
email: brown@flash.uchicago.edu
phone: 773 702-9751
fax: 773 702-6645

4.
Deepto Chakrabarty
MIT
Department of Physics
70 Vassar Street, Room 37-626A
Cambridge, MA 02139
email: deepto@space.mit.edu
phone: 617-253-3840

5.
Philip Chang
UC Santa Barbara
Department of Physics
Broida Hall, Building 572
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9530
email: pchang@physics.ucsb.edu
phone: 805-968-4082
fax: (805) 893-3307

6.
Yun Chen
University of Illinois
1002 W Green Rm 103
Urbana, IL 61802
email : yunchen@uiuc.edu

7.
Remon Cornelisse
University of Southampton
Department of Physics and Astronomy 
Highfield Campus
Southampton
Hampshire SO17 1BJ 
United Kingdom 
email: cornelis@astro.soton.ac.uk
phone: +44 23 80593918
fax: +44 23 80593910

8.
Jean Cottam
NASA/GSFC
Laboratory for High Energy Astrophysics
Code 662
Greenbelt,  MD, 20771  
email: jcottam@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov
phone: 301 286 1586
fax: 301 286 1684

9.
Andrew Cumming
UC Santa Cruz
UCO/Lick Observatory,
1156 High St.,
Santa Cruz CA 95064
email: cumming@ucolick.org
phone: (831) 459 5246
fax: (831) 459 5265

10.
Simon DeDeo
Princeton University
Dept. of Astrophysics
Princeton, NJ 08544
USA
email: simon@astro.princeton.edu
phone: 609-924-0472

11.
Jacob Fisker
University of Basel
Institute of Physics
Klingelbergstrasse 82
4056 Basel
CH, Switzerland
email: fisker@quasar.physik.unibas.ch
phone: +41 61 267 3785
fax: +41 61 267 3784

12.
Duncan Galloway
MIT
Center for Space Research
37-626b, 77 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge, MA 02139
email : duncan@space.mit.edu
phone : 617 2536996
fax : 617 2530861

13.
Jake Hartman
MIT 
Center for Space Research
77 Massachusetts Avenue, Rm 37-624
Cambridge, MA 02139
email: jhartman@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-7554

14.
Erik Kuulkers
ESA/ESTEC
Science Operations & Data Systems Division
SCI-SDG
Keplerlaan 1
2201 AZ Noordwijk
The Netherlands
email: ekuulker@rssd.esa.int
phone: +31-71-5656145
fax: +31-71-5654690

15.
Frederick K. Lamb
University of Illinois
Center for Theoretical Astrophysics
Department of Physics
1110 W. Green Street
Urbana, IL 61801
email : fkl@uiuc.edu
phone : 217 333 6363
fax : 217 244 7559

16.
James Lattimer
SUNY Stony Brook
Dept. of Physics & Astronomy
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3800
email : lattimer@astro.sunysb.edu
phone : 631-632-8227
fax : 631-632-1745

17.
Agnieszka Majczyna
Copernicus Astronomical Center
ul. Bartycka 18
00-716 Warsaw
Poland
email: majczyna@astrouw.edu.pl

18.
Herman Marshall
MIT
Center for Space Research
NE80-6031
Cambridge, MA 02139
email: hermanm@space.mit.edu
phone: 617-253-8573
fax: 617-253-8084

19.
Morgan May
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Physics Department
510A
Upton, NY 11973
email : may@bnl.gov
phone : 631-344-3934
fax : 631-344-3000

20.
Cole Miller
University of Maryland
Department of Astronomy
College Park, MD 20742-2421
email: miller@astro.umd.edu
phone: (301) 405-1037
fax: (301) 314-9067

21.
Sharon Morsink
University of Alberta
Department of Physics
Edmonton, AB 
T6G 2J1
Canada
email : morsink@phys.ualberta.ca
phone : 780-492-3987
fax : 780-492-0714

22.
Michael Muno
MIT 
Center for Space Research
70 Vassar St.
Bldg. 37-664h
Cambridge, MA 02139
email : muno@mit.edu
phone : 617 253 3429
fax : 617 253 0861

23.
David Nice
Princeton University
Physics Dept., Jadwin Hall
Box 708
Princeton, NJ 08544
email : dnice@princeton.edu

24.
Claire Noel 
Universite Libre de Bruxelles
Institut d'astronomie et d'astrophysique IAA
Campus de la plaine - CP226
Boulevard du Triomphe
B- 1050 Bruxelles - Belgique
email: clnoel@astro.ulb.ac.be
phone: +32-2-650 35 70
fax: +32-2 650 42 26

25.
Feryal Ozel
Institute for Advanced Study
School of Natural Sciences
Einstein Drive
Princeton, NJ 08540
email : fozel@ias.edu
phone : 609-734-8153

26.
Bohdan Paczynski
Princeton University
124 Peyton Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544-1001
email: bp@astro.princeton.edu
phone: 609-258-3807
fax: 609-258-1020

27.
Frits Paerels
Columbia University
Columbia Astrophysics Laboratory
550 West 120th Street
New York, NY 10027
email: frits@astro.columbia.edu
phone: (212) 854-0181
fax: (212) 854-8121

28.
Anthony Piro
UC Santa Barbara
777 Madrona Walk Apt E
Goleta CA 93117
email : piro@physics.ucsb.edu

29.
Dimitrios Psaltis
University of Arizona
Physics Department
1118 E. 4th St.
Tucson, AZ 85721
email: dpsaltis@physics.arizona.edu

30.
Hendrik Schatz
Michigan State University
National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory, 
South Shaw Lane
East Lansing
MI 48842
email: schatz@nscl.msu.edu
phone: (517) 333 6397
fax: (517) 353 5967

31.
Norbert Schulz
MIT
70 Vassar Str.
Cambridge , MA 02139
email: nss@space.mit.edu
phone: 617 258 5767
fax: 617 253 8084

32.
Anatoly Spitkovsky
UC Berkeley
Astronomy Dept
601 Campbell Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720
email : anatoly@astron.berkeley.edu
phone : 510-642-8987
fax : 510-642-3411

33.
Henk Spruit
MPA
Postfach 1317
85741 Garching
Germany
email: henk@mpa-garching.mpg.de
phone: +49 89 30000 2220
fax: +49 89 30000 2235

34. 
Sumner Starrfield
Arizona State University
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
P.O. Box 871504
Tempe, AZ 85287-1504
email: starrfield@asu.edu
phone: 480-96507569
fax: 480-965-7954

35. 
Tod Strohmayer
NASA/GSFC
Mail Code 662
Greenbelt, MD 20771
email : Tod.E.Strohmayer@nasa.gov
phone : 301-286-1256
fax : 301-286-1684

36.
Jean Swank
NASA/GSFC
Code 662 
Greenbelt, MD 20771
email: swank@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov
phone: 301-286-9167
fax: 301-286-1684

37. 
Ronald Taam
Northwestern University
Department of Physics & Astronomy
Dearborn Observatory
2131 Tech Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
email : taam@tonic.astro.northwestern.edu
phone : 847 491 7528
fax : 847 491 3135

38.
Greg Ushomirsky
MIT
402 Highland Ave #33
Somerville, MA 02144
email: gregus@tapir.caltech.edu

39.
Michael Zingale
UC Santa Cruz
UCO/Lick Observatory
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
email: zingale@ucolick.org
phone: 831-459-5246